NEW YORK (Wednesday, January 25, 2012) – The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) released today the schedule for its Under-20 Women’s Championship, which will be played entirely at the Estadio Rommel Fernandez in Panama City, Panama.

The competition launches on March 1 with a Group A doubleheader, when Canada faces Haiti and Mexico opposes Jamaica.

On the following day, defending champion United States is pitted against Guatemala in the Group B opener, while host Panama will close the doubleheader with an encounter against Cuba.

The groups will alternate play through March 6, highlighted by a meeting between the United States and Panama in the last game of the group phase.

The semifinals are set for March 9 with the third-place match and final to follow two days later.

The top three teams qualify for the 2012 FIFA Under-20 Women’s World Cup.

The World Cup was originally to be played in Uzbekistan, August 18 – September 9, but FIFA announced last month that the Asian nation would no longer host the tournament due to logistical and technical reasons. Japan has been proposed as the new host.

2012 CONCACAF Under-20 Women’s Championship Schedule
At Panama City, Panama
All times U.S. Eastern (local times in parentheses)

Group A: Mexico, Canada, Haiti, Jamaica
Group B: Panama, United States, Guatemala, Cuba

Thursday, March 1
Canada vs. Haiti, 5 p.m. (5 p.m.)
Mexico vs. Jamaica, 7:30 p.m. (7:30 p.m.)

Friday, March 2
United States vs. Guatemala, 5 p.m. (5 p.m.)
Panama vs. Cuba, 7:30 p.m. (7:30 p.m.)

Saturday, March 3
Mexico vs. Haiti, 5 p.m. (5 p.m.)
Jamaica vs. Canada, 7:30 p.m. (7:30 p.m.)

Sunday, March 4
Cuba vs. United States, 5 p.m. (5 p.m.)
Panamá vs. Guatemala, 7:30 p.m. (7:30 p.m.)

Monday, March 5
Haiti vs. Jamaica, 5 p.m. (5 p.m.)
Canada vs. Mexico, 7:30 p.m. (7:30 p.m.)

Tuesday, March 6
Guatemala vs. Cuba, 5 p.m. (5 p.m.)
Panama vs. United States, 7:30 p.m. (7:30 p.m.)

Friday, March 9
Group A winner vs. Group B runner-up, 5 p.m. (5 p.m.)
Group B winner vs. Group A runner-up, 8 p.m. (8 p.m.)
*Match order subject to change

Sunday, March 11
Semifinal losers, 6 p.m. (5 p.m.)

Semifinal winners, 9 p.m. (8 p.m.)

CONCACAF “The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football” is one of six continental confederations of FIFA (Fédération Internationale de Football Association) and serves as the governing body of football in this part of the world. It is composed of 40 national associations, from Canada in the north to Guyana, Surinam and French Guyana in the south